22. Men (part 2)

Charlesrushmiller

A tintype of Charles Rush Miller, my great-great-grandfather. Another photo is here.

Inez says that the girls were always “a bit scared” of
Charles Giles, but they had a different opinion of their other grandfather, Charles
Rush Miller. My grandmother adored him and always described him as being
confident, happy, and not giving a damn about what anyone else thought of him.
He was a farmer and a skilled carpenter and cabinet-maker; at 70 he built a
beautiful heavy horse-drawn sleigh for his son, Wallace, which Inez said
“carried many parties of people, young and old, after it arrived in South Otselic.”

He was also a skilled woodsman and lover of the fields
and streams, and probably encouraged the little girls in what became a lifelong
interest of their own. When I was little, Inez used to tell me how he had once
found a den of baby foxes whose mother had been trapped and how the girls
begged him to tell and retell the story of reaching in and taking the cubs out
one by one.

He hunted deer in the “North Woods” and small game nearer
home. He was a trout fisherman of great skill, spending many summer days at his
son’s home, helping in haying and fishing the Middletown and other streams he had known all his life. With a granddaughter to drive him
in a buggy to the source of a stream, he would vanish for most of a day,
returning weary, with sagging shoulders at night, but never with empty creel.
He always fished with worms, carried in a little bait-box, slung by a strap
from his shoulder, his fish-basket, lined with ferns, on the opposite side.

Wallacemiller_1

Wallace Miller, my great-grandfather, as a young man

It’s odd, considering how large Libby looms in the family’s
history, but I don’t know much about Wally, my great-grandfather Miller. My
mother and grandmother certainly loved him dearly. He died suddenly, of a
massive stroke or heart attack, quite a long while before I was born, before
the war, I believe.

Wallacemiller_2

Wally in his late years

These two men – Charles Rush and Wallace – must have given
my grandmother an affection for men, even if she refused to kowtow to them. She
always told me, only somewhat tongue-in-cheek, that it was important to make
men feel that you thought they were indispensable, while being perfectly
capable of standing on your own two feet. She was very fortunate to find my
grandfather, who loved her completely and was willing to wait on her and put up
with her independent spirit and strong opinions; she, for her part, was devoted
to him as well, and they were an inseparable team for over sixty years, known
by everyone in our town. My grandmother had a fast mind and a tongue to match,
while he was tremendously patient.

My grandmother often quoted poetry, and also loved doggerel. One of her favorites, trotted out on appropriate occasions, was "Patience is a virtue, learn it if you can — Seldom found in women, and never in a man," but she had married someone who was the exception.

Grandpa_shop

My grandfather and me in the woodworking shop, 1986

If my grandfather did lose his temper on a rare
occasion, you knew he must be very angry. Instead of lashing out when he got
frustrated with his wife, though, he usually retreated to his big woodworking shop in
the stone cellar, where he kept a bottle of gin to calm his nerves and could
saw or sand in peace until he was calm and ready to go back upstairs. He was an
excellent restorer of antique furniture, and taught my father to be a fine
woodworker as well; the two of them spent many hours in the shop as well as
working together in the real estate business during the day. My grandfather was
also just plain lucky – at life, and at cards. Learning to playing bridge with
him was quite an experience. He never got rattled, and like my mother could remember all the cards. He and my mother or grandmother would be partners,
against my father and me, and we would watch in amazement as he’d win the bidding at 3 No
Trump and calmly and confidently proceed to take every trick, then gather up
the cards and, smiling a little bit to himself, say something offhand like, “That worked out pretty well.”

4 comments
  1. Pica said:

    Beth, this is so wonderful. Thank you!

    I remember learning to play bridge — my mother was good at bidding, my grandmother less so, but they were both good teachers. (My father wasn’t great at bridge but had a very good memory so I had three different models of players as I learned at a beach in southeast Spain.)

    Do you feel a little wistful you have no children to pass this all on to? I have a niece and nephew but no faith at all that they’ll be interested…

  2. Pica said:

    Beth, this is so wonderful. Thank you!

    I remember learning to play bridge — my mother was good at bidding, my grandmother less so, but they were both good teachers. (My father wasn’t great at bridge but had a very good memory so I had three different models of players as I learned at a beach in southeast Spain.)

    Do you feel a little wistful you have no children to pass this all on to? I have a niece and nephew but no faith at all that they’ll be interested…

  3. beth said:

    Actually, I think I got over that, though it once bothered me a lot. Being childless has its advantages – for one thing, I’ve been able to devote myself to writing and other arts in a way that none of my contemporaries-with-children could do at the same age. This project has made me think about what in my experience might be more universal, or interesting to a larger audience than just my family. I agree that it would be nice to have someone younger be interested – but I think it’s worth writing down just as a record of those times. You never know who will find something in it that matters to them, don’t you think?

  4. Peter said:

    I HAVE a kid and have no guarantee that she’ll be interested in keeping up with family history, or at least not ours. Daniel Radcliffe’s, maybe. So yes, write it down, and note in the margins where to find the stuff you didn’t get time to write.

    Having once been rousted from bed by an irate museum director who wanted to vent about being abused by families who had donated things like a moose head and a half-size stagecoach to his restored sash-and-blind mill, I am sensitive on this next point: If you should choose to leave your family history to a museum, choose a museum whose purposes match the material. Selling off stuff that doesn’t fit is always painful to small-time local charities!

    Following the story with fascination and admiration …